CBD

Is CBD Halal?

Is CBD halal?

Let us dive into the debatable topic: is CBD halal? Well, to start with, the word “halal” is an Arabic word, which denotes acceptable behavior in Islamic law. And something which is prohibited is regarded as “haram” or forbidden according to the Qur’an, the holy book of Islam. For the followers of Islam, there are halal dietary regulations, solely meant to ensure that all foods and beverages ingested conform with the Qur’an and Islamic law. These regulations specify that animals must be slaughtered using a jugular vein cut that drains all of their blood while keeping the spinal cord undamaged. Halal refers to more than only the manner of meat slaughter, though. Muslims must also ensure that the food they eat won’t hurt them physically, such as by causing cancer or if their bodies can’t digest them. Additionally, they must make sure that all foods (especially processed foods) and non-food items like cosmetics and pharmaceuticals are halal. Examples of foods that Muslims are forbidden from consuming are blood and alcoholic beverages. 

When it comes to answering: is CBD halal or non-halal, the most discussed topic has been around its source, i.e., the cannabis plant vs hemp. Some believe that a CBD product should be regarded as halal if it is made from hemp and doesn’t include THC, or any other intoxicating substances so that it can be utilized for its therapeutic effects. Others, however, are not as certain, contending that CBD’s status as haram depends on the plant it originated from and the way it was sourced since CBD production frequently makes use of non-halal materials like alcohol or food additives like gelatin. If one does decide to use a CBD product, it’s important to find a brand that does not have gelatin, alcohol, or THC in its oral CBD products. Dr. Peace Lily is a brand that was started by a Muslim Pharmacist and does not contain any THC or pork ingredients.

Categorizing CBD products into halal and non-halal

There is widespread agreement that some CBD products are not halal following Islamic law due to the addition of gelatin, alcohol, or other haram substance. For instance, a full-spectrum CBD product would not be regarded as halal since it contains whole plant components and an unprocessed quantity of cannabinoids, including THC, in its composition. Additionally, certain CBD products, such as capsules, are produced utilizing alcohol or bovine gelatin. These CBD products are also regarded as non-halal because alcohol is forbidden by Islamic law and bovine is regarded as a haram animal source. If certain CBD sweets, such as gummies, are manufactured with food colors derived from animal by-products or include residues of alcohol from production, they might also be regarded as haram. But imams and Islamic Scholars are also coming forward nowadays and addressing that CBD is halal. One scholar that has done this is Mufti Menk and you can watch his Youtube video on this topic here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QufRxvySVjo&t=157s 

Halal CBD products. What to look for?

When CBD products are considered halal, they must not include even a minuscule amount of THC, come from hemp plants, and not have alcohol used in the extraction or refinement steps. Fortunately, there are certain products on the market that meet these requirements.

  1. CBD Isolate: Pure CBD comes in the form of CBD isolate since there are no other cannabis plant components present. It typically originates from hemp plants, which normally have relatively little THC concentrations. The crystal form of CBD known as CBD isolate is frequently ground up and offered for sale as a powder. Crystals of CBD are another name for them. Many CBD products, such as topical skincare creams, capsules, and gummies, use CBD isolate as their primary ingredient. They can be made entirely halal by using a halal carrier oil, like fractionated coconut oil or hemp seed oil. At Dr. Peace Lily, the carrier oil is hemp seed oil. Consumers are advised to check for other additives like gelatin, color, and alcohol to ensure that the CBD isolate product is entirely halal.
  2. Cruelty-free/vegan CBD: The best way to verify that your CBD products aren’t made from animal byproducts that weren’t killed and prepared following halal standards is to look for certified vegan and cruelty-free goods. Since they don’t contain some of the substances present in non-vegan or products that use animal testing, such as artificial colors, parabens, and alcohol, vegan and cruelty-free products will also have a significantly higher safety rating.
  3. Broad-spectrum CBD products: All therapeutic cannabinoids and terpenes present in the plant are included in broad-spectrum CBD formulations like tinctures, lotions, capsules, and edibles. However, the fact that broad-spectrum formulae go through further purification to get rid of any remnants of THC and other psychoactive cannabinoids like CBN and Delta-8/9 THC qualifies them as halal products. Medium-chain triglyceride (MCT) or hemp seed carrier oils are frequently used in broad-spectrum CBD oils to increase absorption and provide a full-plant CBD experience without any euphoric side effects. In general, these oils are regarded as halal.

To sum up, to find a high-quality, halal-compliant CBD product that meets your demands for health and wellness, it is important to consider that not all CBD products are created equal. Utilizing third-party lab certificates to confirm that it is free of, or low in, THC along with a little bit of research will surely ensure that you enjoy the benefits of the best quality halal CBD products. If you are looking for halal CBD products then check out Dr. Peace Lily’s CBD gummies which do not contain gelatin and are vegan: https://www.drpeacelily.com/product/cbd-gummies-for-energy/

 

This article was written by Dr. Peace Lily Scientific Communications Intern, Jahnabi Saikia, and edited by Dr. Najifa Choudhury, PharmD.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *